Things I love the most about New York: Chelsea

I am back in Europe now, and thinking back about my days in New York and all the things that I enjoyed the most over there. With that in mind, I decided to start this list with Chelsea.

During my three-month stay in the city, Chelsea was one of the places that I kept going back to. All the time, actually. I think I got a little addicted to it.

I found Chelsea simply amazing. It gives you access to creative work that otherwise you wouldn’t even know existed.

It’s never boring. The galleries change their collections every Thursday so every week there’s something completely new to see. From paintings and collage…

To photography…

To sculpture.

I have a constant hunger for inspiration and seeing creative work feeds it. New York is ideal in that way. It has so much going on that you simply feel an obligation to make the most of it. There is no such a thing as staying at home on a Saturday afternoon. It is not even an option. There is always somewhere to go and something to see.

Chelsea is an eternal, ongoing circle of creativity. Nothing lasts more than a week, true, so it has something shallow and superficial about it, but at the same time, it forces you almost to have a sense of duty to go and see art. Chelsea gives you a deadline and you don’t want to miss out.

 Me, the happy Chelsea addict. :0)

Lots of love.

2 thoughts on “Things I love the most about New York: Chelsea

Leave a Reply

