Week 3 in New York City

In between a weekend trip to Texas, countless nights out, gallery visits, a dozen cocktails and many miles covered in and around Manhattan (on foot, of course, just like everyone else in this city), the following events have taken place:

♥ 1) I have finally uncovered the secret why the average New Yorker loves walking so much: they have truly perfected the Art of Walking. See bellow for photographic evidence.

♥ 2) I have fallen head over heels in love with Gwyneth Leech’s illustrated coffee cups on show at the Sprint Artspace in the Flatiron building. Check them out:

Aren’t they adorable? It’s such a fun and sweet idea in such a unique little spot, it never fails to make me smile and think: “Damn, I wish I had come up with that!”

♥ 3) Meanwhile, in my studio, a.k.a. The Kitchen, I have successfully completed my first children’s illustration assignment: a page of the oriental fairytale “The broken pot”.

I have decided not to use any kind of digital effect and do everything by hand. (Yes, the old-fashioned way.) I used black pencil and watercolors. Here is the end result:

Considering that this was my second time using watercolors, I am rather proud of the final piece. The wet on wet technique is definitely a challenge though. There is no way to predict what’s going to happen. The paint goes where it pleases. It’s insane!

If you’re a relaxed artist who thrives on “happy accidents”, this is fantastic news! If you’re a stressed out little control freak and a Cmd+Z addict, then this is your worst nightmare. At the moment I find myself somewhere between the two. Not for long, I hope.

That’s it for today, my darlings. Stay tuned for more New York updates and for some bonus Texas posts too! (After all, I didn’t drink all those margaritas for nothing! :)

 All pictures taken by me.

Lots of love from the Lower East Side.

3 thoughts on “Week 3 in New York City

  1. Looking at your photos it seems like you are having a wonderful trip. I hope you are keeping well, still reading your posts in my reader but apologies for not calling by to comment very often, time just seems to get swallowed up by real life!

Leave a Reply

