L’amour Fou and Thanksgiving

For a review of L’amour Fou, the new documentary about the life of Yves Saint-Laurent, I was asked to illustrate Ballet dancer Zizi Jeanmaire.

Jeanmaire was a close friend of the designer. They collaborated together a few times and she modeled for him.

Zizi Jeanmaire & Yves Saint-Laurent

I haven’t seen the documentary yet, but I can’t wait to watch it.

Yves Saint-Laurent fascinates me. He had a terribly hard life and died of a very tragic illness, but he was also an inspiring character and one of the most important designers in the world. He created the first tuxedo for women, he created the first ready-to-wear line and he was the first designer ever to use ethnic models on runway shows. This was a man who was born in the thirties, by the way, completely ahead of his time.

Read the full review in Amelia’s Magazine.

 

Yesterday was Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving Parade. Source: Pinterest.

Even though Europe does not celebrate Thanksgiving, this makes me happy for two reasons:

1) It reminds me to be thankful for everything I have and for everything I have achieved.

My life is going through some major changes at the moment, and even though some of them are difficult, I am thankful for them. Change is always for the better, right?

2) Thanksgiving also reminds me that in exactly ONE MONTH it will be Christmas. Yay!

I love Christmas. It’s by far my favorite time of the year. This year it will be slightly different from the usual: I am going to Brazil. After almost 20 years away, I am going to spend my first Christmas and New Years over there. I don’t know what to expect but I’m very excited and looking forward to it. Though I’m sure I’ll miss the cold weather and the European feel of Christmas: it’s cozy and pretty special. But like I said: “change is always for the better”, so bring it on!

Source: Pinterest.

Have a beautiful weekend, everyone.

Lots of love from Lisbon.

4 thoughts on “L’amour Fou and Thanksgiving

  1. Hi Joana, I am playing catch up after the olive harvest! There was certainly lots to read and enjoy here. Guess what I have started a separate blog to share more of my photography, I hope you will be interested.

    I hope you are able to see the changes happening in your life as the next chapter in the great adventure called life. :)

  2. “But like I said: “change is always for the better”, so bring it on!”

    Are you making lemonaid here? You’d be amazed how oftern change is for the worse …

    But your art work is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

