// Books and portraits

// I was once asked to draw a portrait of myself.

This was one of the hardest assignments I’ve ever done. For starters, I don’t draw realistically. If I have to draw a particular face, I might get inspired by elements of that face (say the person’s hair, or a pair of glasses) and try to recreate that on paper. Or I might simply go for it, draw a face out of my head and then apply something of the person’s characteristics after I finish (the hair, the glasses). Either way, it’s quite instinctive and not a very clear process at all.

So I did two versions of me. Here’s version one:

And here’s version two:

I can honestly say that these look NOTHING like me! Like the drawings, I have long curly hair, but that’s about it.

I guess that’s the wonderful thing about painting and drawing and art in general. Once you make it, you can call it whatever you want. You are completely and utterly FREE.  :)

// The Book Tour

Remember the book? The one about Fashion illustration showcasing the work of illustrators from all over the world, including myself?

Yup! That’s the one. Remember? Well, yesterday was the first day of Amelia’s Compendium of Fashion Illustration UK Book Tour.

First stop was Covent Garden in London. Next stops are as follows:

Edinburgh: 17th May

Brighton: 24th May

Oxford: 25th May

Bristol: 26th May

and back in London on Tuesday 7th June (my birthday!)

There will be delicious goodies, cakes, book editor and publisher Amelia Gregory talking about her work, many fabulous illustrators popping by and oh God, I wish I was there!

Full venue listings and details are here.

3 thoughts on “// Books and portraits

Leave a Reply

