// Presents

Presies

I have finally started my Christmas shopping. By that I mean that I have bought one present to give away and three books for myself. – It sounds like a pretty good math to me: for each present destined to a dearest one, there’s three waiting for me underneath the tree. The more I think about it, the more sense it makes. It’s a good arrangement and I like it.

This is me, very busy buying presents left and right. It’s an exaggeration of course, as so far I’ve only bought stuff online, but it’s a nice little representation of the season and the general good will that I am feeling these days.


Beautiful freebies

Speaking of presents, I am completely addicted to Eat Drink Chic (if you don’t know it, go there now) and the lovely Amy Moss has designed and posted these gorgeous Christmas inspired gift tags.

Images from Eat Drink Chic.

Even better, you can download them from the site. Isn’t that sweet? Pay her a visit. You won’t regret it. She has amazing good taste and every post is a treat.

Completely irrelevant fact of the day

Today is John Malkovich’s birthday.

Glenn Close and John Malkovich in “Dangerous Liaisons”.

If you’re anything like me, you either 1) really like him as an actor or 2) really like these completely useless and irrelevant facts that have nothing to do with anything. Either way, I’m in a good mood today and as I’m a huge fan of some of his films, here’s a little list I compiled of the ones I definitely recommend watching (perfect for the very cold winter days that are upon us):  

Empire of the Sun (war movie; very touching; gorgeous photography; directed by Spielberg)

Dangerous Liaisons (intrigue, seduction, manipulation and ruined reputations; set in France; amazing costume and art direction)

The Portrait of a Lady (adapted from the novel by Henry James)

Burn After Reading (directed by the Coen brothers. Need I say more?)

and Spike Jonze’s Being John Malkovich, of course (modern philosophy, dark humor and a secret portal into John Malkovich’s mind; different from anything else I’ve ever watched; so good; so very good).

How about you? What have you been doing this week? Beautiful and inspiring things, I hope. :)

Lots of love from Lisbon.

6 thoughts on “// Presents

  1. I always (always) end up buying things for myself while gift shopping! I even made a post about it in my blog=) So I know exactly what you mean, Joana!

  2. Hahaha. I am glad I’m not the only one. :0) I’ll go check out your post. Your blog is so amazing, by the way. You have the most beautiful photographs (and the cutest dog!)
    Lots of love from Lisbon.
    xx

Leave a Reply

