// Pink garden

The other day, I decided to take my paints and brushes out of the cupboard and play with them for a bit. I haven’t worked with acrylics for such a long time, I thought it would be fun to snap a few shots to show the illustration as it comes to life.

So this is what I did:

First I drew the outlines of the piece. – At this point I usually have no idea what I’m doing so I just go with the flow and draw whatever comes into my mind. – Secondly, I painted the dresses and whatever else I felt like painting. I very quickly decided that I wanted to use pink, so I reached for the red and white tubes and just went for it.

When I’m painting I usually try to figure out which parts will be darker and which parts will be lighter. I’m sure there’s a proper rule for it, but I don’t know it so I just make it up as I go along.

I like smudging the paint onto the paper with the brush. It creates this messy texture, which I love.

After I finished painting, I put my brushes aside and went back to my beloved black markers. I used them to add details all over: faces, hair, eyelashes, flowers, patterns, whatever I felt like.

And here is what the final piece looks like (properly scanned and everything):

I am sure I could add more details or use other colors but I kind of like it the way it is. When a piece feels finished to me, I stop. (I guess it’s my guts warning me: “Stop now! If you continue you’ll ruin it, girl!” – and so I obey.)

That’s it really. It’s done. I am thinking about getting it framed and give it as a present to a friend who’s about to give birth to a baby girl (any minute now actually, she is huge!). It’s quite a large piece and I think it would look pretty in a girl’s bedroom.

How about you? Have you been working on something creative this week? Show me. I want to see.

Lots of love from Lisbon and have a beautiful day.

11 thoughts on “// Pink garden

  1. oh wow this illustration is super cool! loved following you through the process of making it! for me nothing too creative this week…well I’m redesigning my graphic portfolio but this doesn’t count I suppose ;) I hope to have time to create some new and fresh work soon! xxx

  2. Lovely, Ju… I have been working on the “political locus of the development aid”… very creative… looks like lots of Time News Roman formatted words on white paper… do you want to see it? :-)

  3. This is beautiful and what a wonderful gift it would make for your friend. I have nothing to such you in return as I am not a practically creative person.

    I was unable to send you a direct message to the question you left on ‘News From Italy’ so have answered there that it is fine! I will look forward to the post, I am pleased you liked mine :)

  4. Those are beautiful and pink in a grown-up feminine way rather than little-girl. I love them! I’m busy working on gift tags, cushions ribbons etc for a Christmas bazaar I’m taking part in. Hope you’re having a great week, Love from London xo

  5. Thank you guys! My friend has actually had the baby yesterday! It was a few weeks premature but everything is well and it’s so tiny and so adorable! Her name is Victoria. I’ll wrap this up and give it to her. I hope she’ll like it. Oh, and I hope the mum will like it too.
    xx

Leave a Reply

