// Mae West’s perfume

Every woman loves a perfume bottle. Independently of the perfume inside, no one can deny the art and design that goes into the packaging. I remember that at one point I considered collecting them, but I quickly had to give up on that idea due to moving around so much.

But anyway, today I published a new illustration in a beautiful article about the history of iconic perfume bottles. How lovely is that?

I was asked to draw ‘Shocking’ by Schiaparelli, a perfume from the thirties. The bottle is so gorgeous. It was designed by Leonor Fini and inspired by Mae West.

Here’s my piece:

Before I started drawing, I glanced through various old pictures of Mae West. She was beautiful and had the most glamorous jewelery. It must have been amazing to see her live on Broadway during the twenties. I feel nostalgic sometimes, and wish I could have lived during that era. I find that women from that time are so fascinating. I wonder if people will say the same thing about us in the future.

Read the article on Amelia’s Magazine.

I’m sorry about the lack of posts this week. I have been going CRAZY finishing up some Christmas ad campaigns, whilst also working on a couple of very cool illustration projects. I’ll be writing about them very soon! I can hardly contain myself actually, but I was asked not to spill the beans so I’ll keep it quiet, at least for now.

Last but not least, I have also been making the final touches to my brand new website. Yay! :) It’s coming out nicely. Here’s a little sneaky peek:

It’s almost there. Very few tweaks to be made. I’ll make an announcement here as soon as it’s done. Can’t wait!

How about you? What have you been inspired by so far this week? Incredible women from the twenties? New websites? Christmas? – Many beautiful things, I hope. The more inspiration, the better.

♥ Lots of Love from sunny Lisbon ♥



6 thoughts on “// Mae West’s perfume

  1. Hi ladies,
    Thank you so much! I’m glad you liked my little version of Mae West. Although I don’t really draw realistic portraits, I love being inspired by real people, especially women.
    Lots of love. xx

Leave a Reply

