// Coco Chanel Friday

Yesterday I published a brand new illustration. It was for a beautiful article on Coco Chanel and her new biography written by Justine Picardie.
Needless to say, this was the best assignment ever. I was asked to illustrate a portrait of Coco in my own drawing style, so I decided to keep it very clean but have a little fun with it too.  This was the end result.

Now, I cannot possibly do her justice. She’s too amazing for my black markers and sketchbook. – But I like to think that she would have enjoyed this little piece of illustration. I did it with a lot of love.

Read the article. It’s very interesting.
It is no surprise that I love French women and all things French, so thinking about Coco whilst drawing this has made me miss France so much. I must have been Parisian on one of my past lives, or something, because the love that I feel for that place is so overwhelming. – But then again, who doesn’t love France? It is the most perfect and inspiring country in the world, in my opinion. I feel completely at home when I’m over there.
So until I can make my next trip to France (maybe for new year?), I will keep longing and looking at some pretty things that I photographed last time I was there.

This is me, happy in Paris. Photographed by my dad earlier this year. :)


Beautiful, beautiful place. France, je t’aime. ♥
16 thoughts on “// Coco Chanel Friday

  1. Salut Joana, those illustrations look beautiful and Coco would surely be happy about the black and white simplicity of your drawings. I think she would have approved ;-) The Paris photos are lovely and you look very happy and pretty in the picture your dad took.

    Please don’t worry about my illustration, honest, I know what it’s like to have too much to do and I so appreciate that you’re doing this at all, so really, it’s absolutely nothing you should worry about.

    Have a lovely Sunday, Bisous & Love from London x

  2. Hi Lauren,
    Thank you so much for your comment!
    I am in awe of your work. You have an amazing way with color and your characters are just the best!
    love love love.
    x

  3. Hey lovely,
    Don’t worry. I know there’s no pressure. :)
    Thank you for your comment. I’m so happy you think Coco would have liked my drawings. I’d certainly hope so. She was absolutely wonderful.
    xx

  4. Violetta, Jessie & jazzy elizabeth: Thank you girlies! I’m glad you liked the drawings.

    Kim & Arash Mazinani: Aww… I’m glad you liked my girls. They do have the longest eyelashes, don’t they? I wish I had eyelashes like that. :) Anyway, thank you so much for your comments. It means a lot.

    xx

  5. I went to Paris years ago and fell head over heels in love with that city… it’s obviously not hard to. :) Your illustration is so neat! Fun yet true to her – love it!

  6. Katie, Ashley and Ashe Mischief: Thank you so much for your comments. Paris is definitely the most beautiful city in the world, and the most inspiring. It’s the perfect city for women. :)
    Lots of love. xx

Leave a Reply

